Skip to content

Career Goals 2010.

January 5, 2010

I’m spending the bulk of my day filling out a career goals form that I will meet with my boss about tomorrow, and will then go to HR and into my permanent file, along with my past employee evaluations.

Needless to say, I’m utterly thrilled about this.

As I sit here and brainstorm, I keep coming up with excellent career goals, but they’re not really the type that should go on this form. Here are a few examples.

1st Goal/Objective: To quit this job.

Importance: Essential

Measurement: Spend my days growing more and more disillusioned. Filling out this form is a good start. In my free time, I could search sites such as monster.com and hotjobs.com, update my resume, and write cover letters.

Due Date: By the end of the year, so help me God.

Results Achieved: Actually growing my career.

2nd Goal/Objective: To spend my free time gchatting with my best friend.

Importance: Desirable

Measurement: Sitting at my computer apparently laughing to myself while typing furiously.

Due Date: Right now

Results Achieved: Regain sanity.

3rd Goal/Objective (courtesy that BFF): To meet a handsome and rich vampire who is or is similar to Edward Cullen.

Importance: Essential

Measurement: Becoming a vampire, but not before bearing his vampire baby.

Due Date: On or around my 19th birthday.

Results Achieved: Eternal ecstasy, strength, beauty, immortality.

4th Goal/Objective: To develop a better relationship with my boss.

Importance: Important

Measurement: Drinking together.

Due Date: Tonight, or when the idea stops horrifying us.

Results Achieved: Not hating working with each other.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2010 12:52 pm

    I wish we had to fill out a form like that. I do love me some form filling out.

  2. January 6, 2010 4:44 pm

    so happy you are back to writing! and forms, oh how i love them. they are almost as fun as lists. and there is not a hint of sarcasm in that comment.

Leave a Reply

