Skip to content

Blah.

September 29, 2009

A reader sent me an e-mail calling me out on my “extraordinary selfishness,” and I guess because of that I don’t really feel like blogging anymore.

They were all “no”s, anyway, and that was depressing.

Maybe I should just decide to love my life as is.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Julia permalink
    September 29, 2009 10:20 am

    Don’t let someone rude stop you! You are allowed to be selfish, this is YOUR life. Maybe it is more about the fear that all those “no’s” piling up is pretty irrefutable evidence of what you really want? Just a thought. I’m not encouraging divorce…however, I have yet to read about any good feeling you have had towards C. You don’t have children and you are young; if there is a good time to move on, it is now. Best of luck, whatever path you choose; I will be thinking of you and hoping you’re well.

  2. Julia permalink
    September 29, 2009 10:22 am

    Oh, and I meant “are” pretty irrefutable, not “is.” I’m a stickler, that just drove me nuts. šŸ™‚

  3. theodoreclancy permalink
    September 29, 2009 11:37 am

    At least you have readers

  4. September 29, 2009 2:03 pm

    I that perhaps the reader who called you selfish is nothing but jealous, and clearly so unhappy with their own life they feel the need to lash out at a stranger.

    I think if it makes you happy continue to blog, I know I love reading your thoughts. Sure, you could decide to love your life as it is…but if deep down it’s not what you want then I’m not entirely sure you’ll ever love it like you should.

    I hope you keep blogging but most of all I hope you find joy. And please tell that rude reader to shut up.

  5. September 29, 2009 9:05 pm

    tell that rude emailer to shove it! your life, your blog, your rules- you can change them at any point, all of them.

  6. September 29, 2009 11:00 pm

    Boo growchy people. Be selfish. I am. And I’ve been called way worse things.

  7. Jason permalink
    September 30, 2009 12:38 am

    As with everyone else on here I agree that you should ignore some stupid reader who thinks stupid things. KEEP THE BLOG ALIVE!

  8. September 30, 2009 7:46 am

    That’s just stupid. The whole point of YOUR blog is to write about YOUR thoughts and feelings. That’s not selfish. And it’s also not selfish to be unsure if you want to be with someone who doesn’t meet your needs.

  9. September 30, 2009 12:41 pm

    The reader has the choice not to read your blog šŸ™‚ The rest of us enjoy you.

    and that kind of reminds me of what Dooce is doing with her hate mail: http://dooce.com/hate

  10. carrie permalink
    September 30, 2009 1:16 pm

    i fail to understand how a blog so very clearly built to examine, in some intricate detail, whether or not you are in love with YOUR life could be expected to be anything other than “selfish.”

    i also fail to understand how we as a culture have decided that selfishness is the cardinal sin at all times. sometimes, you have to be a little bit selfish–if only in blog form–to figure out what the heck you’re going to do next. and i’m a bit confused as to why anyone ever thinks they have the right to attack someone’s life based on the two paragraphs they’ve read on the internet.

    i am with everyone else–keep the blog. don’t be afraid of your readers. most of us are here to support you or at the very least here to send hope for happiness your way. i think this examination has been quite good. it’s gut-wrenching, but it’s black and white and clear. keep at it. i think you’re getting somewhere.

    and that’s my absolutely unsolicited, and therefore worth how much you paid for it, opinion.

  11. October 4, 2009 6:44 pm

    I wouldn’t worry about what random strangers say. But, you’ve only posted 8/30 days, and you haven’t written much about your relationship and what you plan to decide at the end of your time frame (which is over now, I guess). What did you decide?

  12. Ptolemy permalink
    October 19, 2009 9:18 am

    Come back to us! We worry!

  13. Hannah permalink
    October 20, 2009 12:50 am

    S, I hope you are ok. I’m sorry about that person who wrote you that nasty email. I hope things are getting better for you, and that you’re alright. I also hope you are able to come back and write about it here, but you should of course do what is best for you. Just know that we’re pulling for you!

  14. October 20, 2009 10:38 am

    Please come back…

Leave a Reply

